Angels Among Us?!?!

It’s the Holiday season again and the television stations have decided to run Christmas movies BEFORE Thanksgiving this year.  Now, I am not complaining, in fact, I say KUDOS to them…because I love Christmas movies.  Probably because they are full of hope, faith, triumph and love.  Something you don’t see much of the rest of the year on the bube tube.

My daughter Marie loves Christmas movies too.  She also loves 7th Heaven and Touched by an Angel.  Two TV shows that my husband and I have enjoyed longer than she was alive.  🙂  No matter how troubled my life seemed at the time, when I heard Monica say, “God Loves You” to someone on the show, as a glow rose from behind her, it would melt away all the troubles and bring me to tears.  Which is normally where I needed to be, so that I could remind myself to leave it in God’s hands.  ♥

So tonight Marie came to me, after watching Touched by an Angel, and asked “Can people be Angels?”.  A tricky question, since my kids attend a Catholic school where there are four nuns that teach religion, so I wanted to answer it carefully.  I told her that if she was to ask one of the nuns or the priest, they would say that the bible says that angels are heavenly spirits that will never become human and that humans can not turn into angels after they die.  (This is my paraphrasing, so don’t quote me on that)

But then I told her this, “I believe that God created certain angels, like the angel Gabriel who appeared to the virgin Mary, to be the messenger of God.  But I also believe that my mom, who passed away two years ago, is my own personal angel in heaven.  She watches over me and sends requests to the “higher up” to send me help when I need it.”  (and God knows I need it sometimes!)  😀  Marie replied back, “I had a dream the other night that I was an angel and so were you and Grandma.”  I told her that I believe there are angels everywhere, you just don’t always recognize them.

Marie went off to watch Christmas movies, seeming content with what I had told her.  I thought I did pretty good with my answer, but that doesn’t mean that I won’t get a call from the school next week, telling me that Marie and one of the nuns just had a knock down, drag out fight about people becoming angels when they die.  LOL  But if that does happen, I’ll go to the school and explain that her logic came from me.  I’m not afraid of the nuns…okay, maybe I am.  (Hey Mom, Can you have my back up there if that happens?)  😉

After she left it made me start thinking about angels on earth.  I had just been told by my aunt that day, that I was her angel.  I told her I was just her niece who loves her, but she rebutted that I was her angel.  So I accepted that new title, because I am not one to fight with someone who has to be much wiser than me.  So that is why I am writing this post right now.  I’ve pondered on this all night and this is what I have decided about angels.  I guess I am getting prepared for the next time one of my kids throws the angel question out there again.

Maybe we are all destined to be angels some time in our lives, but some of us just need more practice on earth before we get our wings in heaven.  I know there are angels and archangels that are there to do special jobs for God.  I know that humans were born with original sin, thanks to that darn apple and Eve.  But maybe our purpose here is to overcome that temptation and strive to be there for each other, like angel apprentices.  Then one day when we have experienced all we can on this earth and have worked little miracles (through God’s help) we are blessed to be given our ticket to Heaven where we get our angel wings.  So we can be guardian angels over the people we love dearly and send up special requests to the big guy when we know our loved ones on earth need that extra hand that no one else can give.

Think about it, how many times have you needed help and out of the blue someone who you may or may not know helps you?  I don’t know about you, but I have had many times that it has happened to me.  Some people would call it a coincidence, I call it Angels on Earth.  I can not imagine that God intended us to live our lives on earth, helping and loving each other, just so we can go to Heaven and leave all that life experience to be wasted?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not questioning or belittling God or the bible.  I’m just saying that in my feeble mind I have come to the conclusion that I have been put on this earth for some reason and the simplest way I can wrap it up is to say that I am an angel in training.  My hope is that I will be able to touch people’s lives the way other’s have touched mine.  I want to make a difference in this world…to be the kind of example for my kids that my mom was for me.

You can say that I am just trying to be the best Christian that I can be, but the word “Christian” has been misused in the past and many times it can give a person a negative attitude towards you.  So instead of being a Christian, I want to be an Angel in Training.  That gives me a little bit more of a positive feel to it.

So the question for you is, “Have you been working on your angel wings?”  I think I have been working on mine a lot more diligently lately and I love the feeling it gives me.  So to answer my daughter’s question…

“Yes Marie, there are Angels among us!” and you can be one too.

2 thoughts on “Angels Among Us?!?!

  1. Well done.  I believe you did a wonderful job in answering her question. I think God puts people in our lives for a reason and you have helped me more than you’ll ever know.  So that is the reason you are in my life especially now.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.  Love you.  Happy Thanksgiving.:-)

Leave a Reply

