My Baby Boy

It occurred to me that you have heard some things about my older kids, but you haven’t heard much about my baby boy, Christopher.  He will be turning 4 years old soon, so in honor of his birthday I will give you a glimpse of this little man’s life.  I have to say that ever since he was born, he has been a patient little boy.  As an infant, he would sit contentedly in a baby carrier or a stroller at various events that his siblings were attending.  He never got fussy, he would just sit back and chill.  I would often tell my older kids that they owe their little brother big time for all the things he had to sit through as a baby.

He is still a patient toddler, but he is starting to make his siblings pay for some of the things they have done to him.  He has learned that if he takes something from his big sister Ann, he needs to get it and go.  It’s the funniest thing.  You can’t help but laugh when you see my little boy booking it out of the living room with his big sister chasing him and yelling, “Give it back!”  My son may be short, but if he is running away with some contraband, he is like an Olympic runner.

He’s an animal lover too.  We have a dog named Bo-Bo that has become Christopher’s best friend for a number of reasons.  First, because Christopher is only allowed to play in the backyard and the backyard happens to be Bo-Bo’s home.  Bo-Bo is a mixed lab that we got for our daughter Marie when she was around one year old.  Christopher is not very tall, so our dog looks like a horse next to him, but he is not afraid of Bo-Bo.  I think that is because Bo-Bo knows who butters the bread.  Literally, the dog gets a variety of food from Christopher.  He will take a snack outside and a few seconds later Christopher will be back, empty-handed.  Because Bo-Bo is eating the item that had just left the house.  Gotta love a boy and his dog.

Christopher has a number of unique characteristics.  As an infant, his cry sounded like a little lamb.  One late night, when I was very sleep deprived, I nicknamed him “Chris the Lamb”.  I was so delirious that I had created quite a story of my son’s future that night.  Something along the lines of him being a big mafia boss in Dallas, that would be known for his lamb laugh.  Yes, I was very, very tired that night and no one else was around to talk to.  However, Chris the Lamb has outgrown the lamb cry, so I guess his future as a mafia boss is over.

Another trait that he has had since infancy is his unique sleeping pattern.  He has been my only child that can put himself to sleep.  As a baby, he would rock back and forth on his hands and knees with a little sing-song chant.  He would rock so hard sometimes, that his crib would squeak.  Then in the middle of his rocking, he would bang his head on the mattress a few times and then fall asleep.  Now that he is older, he doesn’t rock anymore, but he will smack his foot against the bed for a while.  Then, before he falls asleep, he bangs his head a few times on the mattress.  I had to make sure to tell his sitters his ritual so they wouldn’t get worried when he did it.  The first time my in-laws saw this, they said that my husband use to do the same thing.  I guess you could say Christopher is Frank’s mini-me in more ways than one.  (Just a side note, Frank outgrew the head banging, so I do believe Christopher will too.)  🙂

Christopher’s most recent interest is cowboy movies.  One night, I was up late blogging and Christopher woke up and came to join me in the living room.  There was an old cowboy movie on the TV and he sat there and watched it, commenting on the horses and cows.  After that night, he continues to ask to watch horses on TV.  One night I was desperate and found an old John Wayne movie on the TV.  It was El Diablo and I thought for sure he would be asleep not too long into the movie, but that little man watched most of the movie before passing out.  My husband Frank is not a John Wayne fan, so he tried to get Christopher to watch The Lone Ranger with him one day.  That is when we discovered that Christopher had a new word in his vocabulary.  What’s the new word?  Naked!

Picture this, I’m washing the dishes in the kitchen and Frank is trying to keep Christopher occupied by putting on The Lone Ranger on the laptop.  Christopher was pretty interested, however, he gave me a little shock when he came into the kitchen to tell me there were naked girls on the show.  I yell to my husband, “What do you have Christopher watching that has naked girls in it?”  Frank replies, “He’s watching The Lone Ranger, there isn’t any naked girls.”  That’s when Christopher tells me, “Come on, come on.” and gestures for me to follow him.

He brings me to the laptop and points to an Indian boy who has long braids and no shirt on.  “See, naked girl.”  I laughed so hard, then I showed Frank the naked girl on the show.  That misunderstanding was comical, however, our recent encounter with the word was not as comical.  We were at mass today and Christopher was extra chatty for some reason.  As I’m trying to quiet him down, he points to the crucifix at the front of the church and tells me, “Look, Jesus is naked.”  Nice huh?  What did I do?  I told him quietly to stop talking or there would be no playing on the tablet after mass.  Thankfully, mass was almost over so we all survived the ordeal.  Of course, that doesn’t mean he won’t mention this little fact to his preschool teacher some time soon.  Won’t that be fun, considering he attends the same Catholic school that my older kids do.

I have to say that he is a pretty laid back boy who knows how to make us laugh.  We’ve only had him in our life for four years, but boy, what a great four years it has been!  So Happy Birthday to my little Olympic running, head banging, animal loving, outspoken boy.  Maybe this interest of cowboy movies really goes back to your earlier years of being a future Dallas mafia boss.  Who knows, but whatever you end up being, I’ll always love you.

One thought on “My Baby Boy

Leave a Reply

