Picking Up The Pieces

As a mother, you tend to get use to picking up things.  Sometimes the things you pick up are pieces of an item that was accidentally broken by your child.  Sometimes, you have to help pick up the emotional pieces of your child.  It’s not an easy job, but I guess that’s why God created Moms.

The other day, my oldest boy Patrick, fell off a skateboard and hurt his wrist.  He came in the house crying and holding his wrist.  I got him calmed down enough to find out what happened.  He said he had fallen off the neighbor boy’s skateboard and twisted his arm behind him.  I looked him over and was relieved to discover that there were no open wounds on his body.  Then I quickly reminded him that this is the reason I don’t want him riding a skateboard.  He said, “I know, I know.”, but I don’t really think he does know.

I have told him time and time again, do not ride their skateboard.  Yet, he continues to do so.  It’s like one of my favorite quotes, “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make em drink.”  I guess I could ground him, every time I caught him riding their skateboard, but that would be more of a punishment for me.  After all, I would be the one stuck in the house with him.  No, as a mother, you can advise them and guide them, but they are going to do their own thing.

As much as you would like to, you can’t be with your child every minute of every day.  You have to teach them right from wrong and then you have to sit back and watch them make mistakes.  Then you have to be there for them when they mess up.  I hate to be the kind of person that says, “I told you so.” but I guess I am when it comes to my kids.  Not in a mean way, but in a way to show them that Mom had a reason for telling them not to do something,  I don’t want to be that kind of person, but I guess I can pride myself on not being the kind that lectures them for hours and hours of their mistakes.  Instead, I am quick to tell them about my past mistakes and try to explain to them that I learned the hard way and hope that they don’t have to.

I guess I can give myself credit in knowing that my kids don’t try to hide their mistakes from me.  I am the first person they run to when they do the wrong thing.  I know it might sound strange, but I am glad they do.  I am glad that they trust me enough to tell me the truth, instead of hiding the mistake and suffering more than they need to.

My son could have fallen off of the skateboard, collected his emotions on his own outside and I would have never known it happened.  That is, unless his little brother had told me about it.  But he didn’t hide it, instead he came to me in tears, because he knew that I would be there to help fix the problem.  I am so glad I have that relationship with my kids and I hope it continues to be that way as they get older.  It’s the same relationship I had with my parents.  I’d run home and tell my mom about some trouble I got into at school, BEFORE the school had time to call my parents about it.  So I guess you can say that I am taking over where my mom left off.

As for my son, he was in a lot of pain.  So I called my husband and told him I needed to get him to an after hours clinic as soon as he got off work.  There was no way I was taking all four of my kids to an after hours doctors office.  So as soon as Frank arrived home, I was out the door with Patrick right behind me.  It took us about an hour before we found an after hours clinic that was opened.

Come to find out, he had a bend fracture or something like that.  So he has to wear a splint for a week or more and hopefully everything will turn out fine.  As we were leaving the clinic, I asked him again,

“Do you see why I hate skateboards?”

“Yes Mom.”

“Are you going to ride one again?”

“Yes Mom.”

Brother!!!!  Do these kids ever learn?  Obviously, not the first time.  Hopefully he’ll learn by the second mishap.  But if he doesn’t, I’ll still be there to pick up the pieces.  Because I’m the mom.  🙂

Leave a Reply

