I Want To Know What Happens Next

I have just entered a new place that this blogger has never entered before, I am reading my blog to my children.  This is a big step for me, since most of the stories are about them.  I needed to get my kids to sleep sooner on school nights, so what better way to do that than to bore them to sleep with their mom’s blogging.  LOL

Actually, Marie has asked to read my blog, because she knows I am writing a book about the summer she had brain surgery.  I could give her the blog website and let her read it on her own, however, I don’t remember some of the things I wrote in the beginning.  So I feel more comfortable reading it aloud to her, so I can intercede with more explanation if I need to.

The first night I read the first five chapters.  I would have read more to them, however, Patrick vomited in his bed by the fifth chapter.  I believe he was just nervous about going to school after a three-day weekend or it might have been something he ate.  But nothing gives a mother more confidence in her blogging then when her son vomits after hearing the first few chapters read.  LOL

While I was cleaning up the mess that Patrick left on his bed, Marie was asking if she could read the rest to herself.  I told her no, that I would read her more the next night.

She said, “But I want to know what happens next.”

“Do you wonder if Marie is going to die at the end, cause you know that you ARE Marie?”, I asked her.

She laughed and said, “No, I know I don’t die.  But I can’t remember everything that happened.”

Marie was not thrilled with my answer, but I told her that she needed to go to bed for the night and I would read some more to her the next night.

I didn’t get to read to her the following night, but I did read a few more chapters to her tonight.  However, I had to read a different book to Patrick first, so he would fall asleep.  He was not too keen on the idea of hearing my blog again.  Maybe a should put a disclaimer on Marie’s Story that states, “Warning: Children under 11-years-old might feel like vomiting if they hear this story.”  LOL

So tonight, I read three more chapters to Marie.  I discovered a few things after reading to her.  First, I’m thinking I am one darn good writer.  🙂  Second, there are so many things that I have forgotten about.  Third, although the events in the story revolve around Marie, the story has more about my emotions and reactions to the events than I realized.  And fourth, it is a humbling, yet gratifying experience to read aloud to my daughter the love I have for her.

Marie would still like to read the rest on her own, but I want the privilege of reading it to her for the first time.  After I have the story completely written and she has heard the first draft read by me, then I’ll give her a hard copy of the story to read on her own.  Besides, I kind of want to know what will happen next too.  🙂

One thought on “I Want To Know What Happens Next

  1. I suspect for your son it might bring up the anxious and scary feelings he had during that time. For your daughter, well, she missed a good part of it by being sedated for a portion of it and confined to the hospital. If nothing else ever comes out of this book except your daughter having a hard copy of a book that tells her how much she is loved then it was worth the blood, sweat and tears! How many of us would love to have something like that?

Leave a Reply

