Head Out of The Sand

This is no joke.  I really need to get my head out of the sand.  The other day, I did something completely stupid.  I went to pick up the kids from school and I locked my keys in the house.

So I stood in the front lawn, looking at the only car we had at the moment and wondered what to do. First I called my husband’s cell phone, but he didn’t answer, so I left a voice mail.  Then I walked to the school to pick up the kids. By the time I got to the school, Frank had returned my​ call so I could break the news to him.

When I told him, “You’re not going to want to hear what just happened”

He replied, “You wrecked my car?!?!?”

“No, I locked the keys in the house.” I said

“Okay, then how are you going to get them?”  he asked.

“I guess I’ll break into the house.” I replied back.

The best part of this situation was that Tommy had his house key at work, but no car to get home. So the kids and I walked home to break into the house.  Patrick was thrilled that we had to break into the house.  There really is something wrong with that boy.  Way too destructive.  LOL

I decided the best window to break into would be one that is in the kids’ bedroom.  So with Patrick’s help, we tore off the window screen on the storm window.  This was not much of a loss, since there was already a big hole in the screen.  I was able to get the storm window open with some help of a screwdriver.  But when I went to open the big old-style window pane, I knew I was in trouble.  It wouldn’t have been so bad, but back in September, I had caulked the window shut before I put a plastic seal over the window pane.  So there was only one way in, to break the window.

This too, would not be a big loss, since it already had a crack in the window.  I told Patrick to get me a brick to break the glass and he started getting worried about this idea.  Maybe there is hope for him after all.  LOL  Then it started to sprinkle and I’m thinking, ‘Crap, if I break this glass now.  I’m going to have to cover it up before it starts raining hard.’  Thankfully, right about then Frank called back and said he could get a lift home from a friend.

So I closed the storm window and we went over to the neighbor’s house to wait for Frank.  He got home about an hour later.  We got in the house and got the keys for the car.  Then ran to the mechanics to pick up my van, since it was ready.  Needless to say, I’ll be checking my pockets BEFORE I close the front door from now on. LOL

Leave a Reply

