Mother’s Day Eve

On this eve of Mother’s Day, I would like to stop and reflect on the many things I love about my kids.  I have to do this today, because if I do this tomorrow my blog would not have as much of an upbeat tone.  That is because my kids think that Mother’s Day is not the day to honor and be kind to their mother.  They think it’s a day to push mom to farther limits and try to cause me to have a nervous break down.  So if I am not in a mental institution or jail by the end of the day tomorrow, I can guarantee that you will be hearing a more stressed out blog from me.  With that said, let me tell you a few things that I love about my kids.

The thing I love about my little boy Christopher is the silliness he brings into my life.  He will often come into the room with clothes that do not belong to him.  His big sister’s boots, his Dad’s ball cap, his sister’s sunglasses, his mom’s shoes or his big brother’s coat.  You name it and this little boy will be more than pleased to model any sort of outfit he can get his hands on.  Along with his outrageous outfit, he is always wearing that big grin on his face that will melt your heart.  Yes, even when he has “borrowed” something he knows is off-limits, that smile of his will save him every time.

The thing I love about my little girl Ann is the early morning moments we share cuddled up together on the weekend.  Ann has been known to fall asleep in my bed before.  But even on the occasion that she sleeps in her own bed, she will still sneak into my bed in the early morning hours of Saturday and Sunday.  She always has her Doc McStuffin blanket with her and a tablet of some sort.  She will cuddle up beside me and watch Peppa Pig or Barbie’s Dream House or some other kid’s show on the tablet.  Some time during those early morning hours, Miss Ann will start placing her feet on my body and say, “Rub my feet.” or “Scratch my leg.”  Depending on how sleepy I am will depend on how willing I am to do what she asks.  Although I don’t always enjoy being woken up early in the morning, I do enjoy the quiet times we share together.

The thing that I love about my oldest son Patrick is that we both share a love for inventing and fixing things.  We share the same sort of creative thinking.  Whenever I am in the middle of fixing something, Patrick is always coming along asking to help.  There are times that I get stuck on something and he will come up with a different solution.  But this is not just a one-sided scenario.  He often wants to create something and will ask for my help.  Or sometimes I will see what he is doing and give him a suggestion.  He really brings out the inventive side of me.

The thing that I love about my oldest daughter Marie is the fact we share the same love of music and movies.  Yes, Marie and I both share a love for the band ‘One Direction’.  We also love to watch the same kind of movies.  She loves to watch movies that are inspired by Nicholas Sparks’ books and I love to watch the teenage movies like Teen Beach Movie.  She helps me remember what it was like to be a teenage girl again.  I have a really great friend in my oldest daughter.  A relationship that I hope will never end.

All in all, my kids make me who I am.  I would not be as loving, caring, giving, selfless or faithful if I didn’t have my kids.  They know how to bring out the best of me.  Spending time with them seems more like a fun time than work, for the most part anyway.  Now, they also know how to bring out the very worst in me.  They know the buttons to push that will send me in a tirade and make my head spin around.  I guess that is because they know the real me just as much as I know the real them.

They spend most of their days attending school, yet the students and teachers they spend so much time with don’t necessarily know my real children.  That is because my kids save their real selves for me and their dad.  I don’t know how many times I have heard a student or teacher be surprised when I mention something one of my children has said or done.  They will be shocked and tell me that they couldn’t imagine my child doing that.  It’s a good feeling to know that my kids feel comfortable enough at home to be their real selves.  I would feel like a failure as a mom if my kids felt they had to hide a part of themselves from Frank and I.

So although my kids know how to push my buttons and cause me to show my ugly side sometimes, I am glad that they do.  Because at least this way, I know that the relationship I have with my kids is a genuine one.  In our family, we love one another, warts and all.  That’s how families should be.  So on this Mother’s Day Eve, I will give thanks for my four beautiful, crazy, loving, annoying, unruly kids.  I know that I am luck to have them in my life and that my life would not be the same without them.

So to the tired and stressed mother’s out there, Happy Early Mother’s Day.  I hope you find a moment to stop and ponder about the special things that you love about your children.  Even if it’s simply the joy you feel when you watch your children fast asleep.  Because no matter how much of a heathen they may be, there’s something magically about the power of sleep that will make them appear to be an angel.  And sometimes, that is all you have to cling to, that they seem like angels…when they are sleeping.  😉

One thought on “Mother’s Day Eve

  1. “All in all, my kids make me who I am. I would not be as loving, caring, giving, selfless or faithful if I didn’t have my kids.” So true!

Leave a Reply

