The Dreaded Phone Interview (Life After Layoff – Chapter 7)

It’s Friday, the day I have dreaded.  Today is the day I scheduled my phone interview with a cell phone company.  I know this sounds stupid, but although I applied for the job, I really don’t think I can work at a desk job anymore.  Truthfully, I was having trouble staying awake at my last desk job.  I have sleep apnea, which started some time after my second child was born.  Well, that’s not true.  It started when my first child was born, but I didn’t get it diagnosed until my second child came along.  But that is another story in itself.  So the thought of going back to a desk job and fighting the sleep thing every day does not appeal to me.

But I had applied for the job, so I needed to follow through with my intentions and have the phone interview.  It hadn’t occurred to me until last night, but I really was lucky.  It was just a phone interview, it could have been a face to face interview instead.  Marie made me realize that when she questioned me about the interview.  She asked why it wasn’t going to be an interview in person.  I don’t know why, but I am very thankful it wasn’t.

Needless to say, the morning did not start out like I had planned.  The kids were tired from the previous nights activities, (read Head Out of The Sand) so they did not make it to mass this morning.  Well, Marie did, but none of the others did.  So I didn’t get to sit in church and pray for God’s guidance like I had wanted to.  Instead, I got the kids to school around 8:30am and we sat on the bench in the hall until mass was over.  There was not a lot of praying going on in that hallway this morning.  Oh well, you don’t have to be in a church to pray to God.  So when I arrived home, I sit in my quiet house and said a pray for God’s help on this phone interview.  I was nervous, sick to my stomach and very irritable.

The woman from the cell phone company called right at 9:30am.  The interview lasted about 10 minutes.  I am now breathing a sigh of relief, because the position she was interviewing for was the Financial Analyst job, not the Accounts Payable job.  So I explained to her the mix up I made when I submitted my résumé the first time.  She seemed to understand.  God works in mysterious ways.  The Accounts Payable job that I was originally applying for had already been filled.  Praise the Lord!  I don’t know if I have ever been this happy about NOT getting a job before.

So what have a learned from this?  Number one, I need to get the final things completed in my college enrollment so I don’t have to keep applying for jobs.  Number two, be sure the jobs I apply for are second shift or part-time jobs to eliminate any issues of having a babysitter conflict.  And last, but not least, keep my faith in God that he does have a plan for my future and it seems to still be pointing to the teaching field.  Man, I need a nap after this exciting morning.  LOL

Leave a Reply

