Prescription Refill…Without Insurance (Life After Layoff – Chapter 11)

I’ve just experienced another first in the layoff world.  My kids and I lost our health insurance on 4/1/15 through my old workplace.  I was able to get my kids enrolled in the state’s health insurance, but I was denied.  Although I have tried several times the last week to get enrolled in the government marketplace, I have not been successful.

So far, I have not needed to go to the doctor.  However, my anti-depressant medication is about to run out.  So what do I do?  As you know, I have not been doing well with my depression.  So I don’t think that going off of my medication right now is a good idea.  Do you know what I’m saying?

So today I decided to bite the bullet and call the pharmacy.  I needed to find out how much my medication was going to cost me.  With my insurance I paid $20 for a 90 day supply.  Without insurance I had to pay $158 for a 90 day supply.  That wasn’t too bad.  A lot better than other medications that I have been on in the past that cost almost a $1,000 before the insurance paid.  So I was very thankful that the cost was at least in my price range.

The pharmacist told me that I could get a 30 day supply if I needed to break up the cost.  However, I decided to get a 90 day supply, since I currently have the money.  When I went to pick up the prescription, the woman at the counter asked me if I had insurance.  After I told her that I didn’t, I stood there holding my breath.  I was worried that she would come back and tell me that I couldn’t get the refill without doctor approval or something.

Thankfully, that wasn’t the case.  Instead, I was given a wonderful surprise.  The woman at the counter said that she gave me a coupon towards my prescription.  I thought, ‘Hey that every little cent helps.’  The coupon was not just a few cents off, it was for several dollars off.  The coupon discount she gave me was around $90 off.  What a great surprise that was.

I was expecting to pay $158 and left there only paying $66 for a 90 day supply.  Thank you Lord for helping me out once again.  It’s not in my nature to tell people to have a blessed day.  However, when I checked out, I made sure to tell this woman, “Thank you and have a blessed day.”  Because the little blessing she gave me was more than I ever expected.

In this day and age, it’s the little unexpected things that can really make your day.  A kind word from a stranger, an unexpected discount, a helping hand.  These are the things that can really lift a person’s spirit.  Good things do come to those who wait.  🙂  I hope you all have a blessed day also.

One thought on “Prescription Refill…Without Insurance (Life After Layoff – Chapter 11)

Leave a Reply

