All In the Presentation (Life After Layoff – Chapter 12)

I just met with the Academic Adviser at College B.  Boy, what a difference a person’s attitude can make.  I basically was told the same thing that College A told me, but in a nicer, motivated way.  Instead of leaving the campus feeling disheartened and disappointed, I left there motivated and hopeful.  Because it’s all in the presentation.

This adviser was very upbeat and energetic, as opposed to the other adviser.  It could have been that the adviser from College A was having a bad day, but regardless, her attitude effected her presentation.  Anyway, when I went to college in the 90’s I was able to test out of most of my Gen Ed classes.  So my transcript does not have many Gen Ed classes that are transferable.  However, the adviser was able to give me a list of Gen Ed classes that I could take a local Community College.  Which is good, because the cost per class will be much cheaper.

She explained to me that after completing my Gen Ed classes there, I can transfer them over to College B and in 4 semester I can have my teaching degree.  Not bad, huh?  Most of the classes at College B are night classes.  Soooo…that means my wonderful hubby, Frank, and my terrific kids would need to be on board for this adventure.  There will be nights that I would be taking classes from 4:00 to 7:00 or 7:00 to 10:00.  That’s not my ideal plan.  I was really hoping to be in class when my kids were in class.  However, the night classes would give me more time to work full-time as a substitute teacher during the day, which means more money in the bank.  That is always a good thing.

There is one more college that I can check out, but it is in a different town.  That’s why I ruled it out before.  That college might be farther away, but it might have the day classes that I am wanting.  Either way, it seems that I will first need to enroll at the local Community College and get my Gen Ed classes knocked out.  So my next step is meeting with the Community College and seeing what hours their classes are.  I am hoping to be able to go to college full-time this Fall and knock out most of the classes when the kids are at school.

However, as I go down this new journey I have realized that what I’m hoping for might not be the right choice.  So, I’ll just leave it in God’s hands and see where he’ll lead me.  Only by the grace of God will I be able to get this teaching degree.  That is, if it is his will.

Leave a Reply

