Pool Time Fun (Life After Layoff – Chapter 18)

Frank and I took the kids to an aquatic pool this weekend as part of our 4th of July celebration.  There was a section for everyone.  They had an area that is shallow, like it would be if you were on the water’s edge at a beach.  There is a kiddie area and a 4′ deep area.  Along with a section that was 6′ or 7′ deep area and two water slides for older kids and adults.  It was great fun and I’m so glad we went.

There were a few first that happened that day.  The first time that my husband and I ever rode down the water slide.  Yep, my two oldest kids were doing it over and over.  I finally decided that I just had to try it once.  But before I had the chance to go get my cell phone so Frank could videotape it, he was climbing up the stairs of the water slide.  He went down and must have loved it, because he went down about 6 times that day.

I got a chance to do it twice.  It was better than I thought it would be and my oldest son got a real bang out of it.  He kept going up with Frank or I and racing us down.  I told Frank later that we were either the most Awesome Parents Ever or the most Embarrassing Parents Ever.  Either way, we were having fun doing it.  It shows you that you are never too old to have fun.

The other first I experienced that day was witnessing people’s tattoos.  I’ve never been a big fan of tattoos, but if someone wants to have one, that is their business.  However, I wonder how many women and men that get a tattoo on their belly or side of their body might regret it later in life.

I saw a pregnant woman who had a flower tattoo on her side that wrapped around to her belly.  Needless to say, that flower had blossomed beyond belief due to her pregnant belly.  Then there were some people who had a tattoo that was probably not in the same place it originally was, due to sagging and gravity.

I apologize if I sound a little snotty, because that is not my intention.  In fact, seeing that tattoos reminded me that I have my own natural tattoos, but mine are not made from ink.  My tattoos are made of stretch marks from motherhood and from growing in general.  Which I’m sure some people would prefer not to see, which is why I don’t wear a bikini.  In fact, I wear a t-shirt over my swimsuit so I don’t get sunburned on my back.  In the end, it made me realize that in this day and age, no one, especially women, should be so concerned about their physical appearance.  Don’t let your modesty make you miss out on having fun.

Leave a Reply

