Sound of Silence (Life After Layoff – Chapter 20)

My last post made me realize something exciting and scary at the same time.  There are only 3 weeks left of summer for my kids.  Woo Hoo!  I’m on the downhill slide and I haven’t killed them…yet.  Is my first thought.  Then a minute later I am thinking, Oh crap, I have so much to do in a short time.  Where has the time went?  They say that time flies when you are having fun.  Of course, in our family some of the time has flown while we slept in…a lot.  However, that is about to change today.

I am going to do my best to get my kid’s sleeping pattern back on track.  We have too much to do and too much fun to have in the next three weeks to sleep through it.  Boy, do I sound confident, as I am sitting in my house enjoying the peace and quiet of four sleeping kids.  🙂  That beautiful sound of silence is too good to let go of by waking my kids up.  Yes, silence has a sound.  When you live in a household of 6, you learn that silence is a sound, a sound that doesn’t happen that often.

So as I sit here in my infamous green “sleeping” chair, blogging away, I am enjoying the sound of nothing.  No whining, no fighting, no giggling (Giggling in my house = siblings going overboard and not listening to mom), no begging, no angry words, no “MOM” being hollered out by each and every one of my children.  Just silence.  Before I had kids, I never knew how wonderful silence was.

As I was saying, I’m sitting in my infamous green “sleeping” chair, which has some hypnotic powers that makes old people (like Frank and I) to nap at the drop of the hat.  However, it makes the younger generation bounce off the wall (or should I say cushions).  Go figure!  So my strong stance on reversing the habit of sleeping in late is weakening as my body forms into the comfy chair and I feel calm and relaxed, due the sound of silence.

For a mother of four kids who has been with them 24/7 for the past 6 weeks, this time is rare and too good to pass up.  It is what I live for.  However, it also makes it hard to get things done around the house when you sleep in late every day.

It’s hard to make doctor’s appointments for school physicals when you can’t be conscious enough to make a phone call during business hours.  Not to mention, actually getting to the appointment if it ever gets made.  Oh, this battle of wanting to sleep a little more and yet wanting to feel like you have accomplished one thing today.  It’s a difficult battle that could go either way.  To nap or not to nap, that seems to always be the question.

But not today!  I am going to do my best to fight that urge to go back to sleep.  I’m going to fight my urge to want to tip-toe around the house, in hopes to keep my kids a sleep a little longer.  I need to do this for them.  I need to get them back into the routine of going to sleep sooner and waking up earlier.  I need to get off of my rump and get things done around here.

Oh, who am I kidding?  I’ll make a few phone calls and then drift off to Sleepy Land for a while.  That is until one of my kids wakes me up, wanting something to eat for brunch.  Yes, we eat brunch now.  Because we are normally eating our first meal of the day around lunch time.

I’ll get them up early…tomorrow!

One thought on “Sound of Silence (Life After Layoff – Chapter 20)

Leave a Reply

