Concert Survival Guide (Confessions of a Middle-Age Mom – Chapter 6)

I could lie to you and tell you that ever since I made that secret purchase I have been 100% psyched, but that’s not true.  I had a moment a few weeks back where I was thinking this was the stupidest decision I had ever made.  Yes, I may seem fearless or you might call it ridiculous at times, but I do have a sensible side of me.  I do stop and think about my kids well-being.  Which is why one night, I really thought of bailing on the concert idea.

I was up late one night doing some research for our upcoming event.  Okay, it wasn’t really research per say, I was watching concert footage from the first 2015 One Direction concert in California.  I was trying to find out how long the opening act Icona Pop would be performing before 1D.  Because after listening to a few of their songs, I decided my kids didn’t need to be exposed to their ‘colorful’ lyrics.  So my plan was to figure out how long they would be on stage and if there was a wait time, for stage setup, before the boys would be preforming.  These are still questions I am trying to find answers to, so if you have any idea, please let me know.

What I saw in that video was a little unnerving.  Don’t get me wrong, the concert was just like all the other concerts that I have been to.  The difference was that I was watching the concert through the eyes of a mother of little ones.  Yes, I actually thought to myself, Crap, what was I thinking?  Because as much as I want to give this experience to my kids…and me, I also want to make sure my kids aren’t traumatized for life.

Let me try to describe what I saw in that video.  It was taken from a girl’s cell phone.  She was in a higher level, not floor seating, which gave me a good perspective of what it will be like for us.  The realization that the concert will be in an open football arena…where fireworks can be shot off during the concert gave me some concern.  I think my kids will be okay with the fireworks, as long as I prepare them for it.

But I don’t know if they will be ready for the continuous screaming from all the love-sick girls in the audience.  My sister described it best when she said:  {I imagine the concert will be exactly like that video…scream, OMG, scream, OMG, lalala, scream, OMG.  Yeah that sounds about right.  Honestly I thought about how the concert would be, but its been a long time since I have been to a boy band concert and I didn’t think it would be quite this intense.}  It made me realize that my kids are not going to be the only ones that will be in the seats that night.  There will be hundreds or thousands of people there.  Mostly teenage girls that will be screaming their heart out to their favorite band.  That might be a little overwhelming to my two youngest.  Heck, it might be a little overwhelming for me.  🙂

As much as I wanted my kids to have this one-of-a-lifetime adventure, I wanted their memories to be good memories…not bad.  So after a few conversations with my sister and my niece, plus a restless sleep and many prayers to God, I made my decision.  We would go to the concert, but we would be going with a PLAN.  If you are like me, the word ‘plan’ is not always looked at as a good thing.  I’m not a planner, I’m a ‘fly by the seat of your pants’ kind of girl.  But for this event, I was going to need to make a plan, no matter how much it was going to kill me.

So below is a sort of Survival Guide for our 1D Adventure:

  • Skip opening act – Because of Icona Pop’s “R” rated lyrics and because the kids will not see this as a fun build up to the main event.  They will see this as torture, because they came for one band and one band only.
  • Watch California concert video before-hand – This way they will have an idea of what it is going to be like.  I would hope that it will be scary enough to my little ones that they will want to stay at home with their aunt.  I doubt it, but a mother could always dream.
  • Get earplugs – This way the kids will not be as overwhelmed by the shrill screams of the fans.  I don’t know if they will want to wear them, but I hope they will be willing to wear them after they watch the concert footage.
  • Glow-in-the-dark shirts are a must – My thought is that if we all have glow-in-the-dark shirts on, then the kids will not be as afraid in the dark.  So I went to a craft store and bought some glow-in-the-dark iron-on material that you can print a decal on and attach it to a shirt.  I also got some glow-in-the-dark fabric paint.
  • Glow-in-the-dark necklaces – Another item that we can wear, to help counteract the dark arena.
  • Pre-paid parking spot – I purchased a parking spot to one of the Gold level parking garages on-line.  This way we know we have a close parking spot and can arrive at the concert later than the other fans.  Plus, like my sister pointed out, we might be carrying a few sleepy kids on the way back to the van.
  • Enough Adult Supervision – I have learned over the summer that I can’t be in two places at once.  That is why my sister and my niece are coming with us.  So if/when some of the kids can’t handle the noise of the concert, I will be able to have an adult walk with them in the corridors.  While another adult (hopefully me) can be with the ones that want to watch the concert.
  • Last but not least, No High Expectations –  Not on the concert itself, but on our experience.  I live my life WITHOUT rose-colored glasses.  I know that all four of my kids are not going to act the same way towards this event.  I know that one might be excited and another one might be scared to death.  So if I don’t have high hopes that we will all have the best experience ever at this concert, then I won’t be heartbroken over the outcome.

I am sure that I will have some other ideas before it’s done, but for now, this is my plan.  I want this to be the best time ever and hopefully with planning it will be.

One thought on “Concert Survival Guide (Confessions of a Middle-Age Mom – Chapter 6)

Leave a Reply

