Best Concert Ever (Confession of a Middle-Age Mom – Chapter 13)

I have to make a public announcement to One Direction and tell them Thank You for the best concert ever.  I attended the OTRA tour at Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City, MO last night.

As I stood in the stands, sweating from the heat, I realized that those four boys really love what they do.  (I call them boys, but they are really men.  I guess if I call them boys it keeps the age difference in check for me.)  Because if I was hot and sweaty just standing in the crowd, then they had to be 10 times hotter and sweatier under all of those lights and smoke.

I was sporting a sleeveless shirt and shorts and those guys were up on stage in nice looking outfits.  Liam started the show in a button-down, long sleeved shirt.  Thankfully, he changed not long into the show or he would have passed out from heat stroke, because there was a heat advisory in effect.  Thankfully, the arena was on the ball and had allowed the fans to bring in one bottle of water to the concert.  They had also put up some misting tents in the upper levels.  I would like to say KUDOS to Arrowhead stadium for putting their spectators health first.

As I said, these guys love what they do, because they performed like there wasn’t a heat advisory.  They sang their hearts out and you could tell.  They had smiles on their faces, they thanked the fans over and over again for making them the sensation that they are today.  They were up on that stage having fun.  And in case you were wondering, the absence of Zayn was not an issue.  The remaining band members took over his parts of the songs and did it beautifully.  Which shows that they are some true professionals.

I could go on and on about how great the band was last night, but I won’t.  However, I have to point out that these boys (there I go calling them boys again), these boys know who pays their paychecks.  Because towards the end of the concert, Niall advised the fans to thank their mother, father, sister, brother, grandparent or whomever helped the fans get to that concert.  Yes, they even said a special thank you to the parents that provided their ENTIRE family with concert tickets.  I was more than willing to take a bow at that moment.  Because yes, I was the one that made this happen for my kids.  (Frank too, if he would have been able to get off work.)

One Direction knows their job and they do it well.  I could tell during the end of the concert that they were hot, sweaty and tired.  Yet they preformed their last song with the same enthusiasm as their first song.  They had played for about two hours and still came back for an encore.  They performed all of the songs on the FOUR album plus some of their older songs.  It was a good mix of new and old and it was simply awesome.  So from the bottom of my heart, I would like to thank Louis, Harry, Liam and Niall for making last night the best concert ever.wpid-wp-1438201690535.jpeg

wpid-wp-1438201928846.jpeg

Some girls that was standing behind us with some signs.

wpid-wp-1438201634933.jpeg wpid-wp-1438201667310.jpeg wpid-wp-1438202004836.jpeg wpid-wp-1438202024403.jpeg wpid-wp-1438203084987.jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Best Concert Ever (Confession of a Middle-Age Mom – Chapter 13)

Leave a Reply

