Young One Direction Fans (Confessions of a Middle-Age Mom – Chapter 16)

I have a very scary observation I need to share with you.  As I had mentioned before, I had placed a comment on the One Direction Facebook page to get some idea of how much time the opening act and intermission would be at the OTRA concert.  I got a handful of replies back with some very valuable information and I am forever in their debt.  However, I received something else that I had not planned on receiving.

In the two weeks since I posted my comment on the One Direction Facebook page I have received at least 6 friend requests from younger One Direction fans that I do not know.  This concerns me a great deal.  Yes, I am a mother of four and obviously a very cool mother for taking my kids to a One Direction concert.  That fact, I will not deny.  🙂  But these young people who sent me a friend request don’t know me from Adam.

I’m a mother so I must be safe…Or am I?  These kids don’t know if I really have four kids or if I’m even a woman.  I could be some sort of stalker, looking for my next victim.  Heck, even though I really am a mother of four, these young people don’t know if I have some secret life where I’m the leader of some child trafficking ring or something.  You should know me well enough to know that I’m too darn tired to even attempt to have some ulterior motive.  But these strangers on Facebook don’t know me like you do.

This scares me a great deal, because I know that if my kids were on Facebook they most likely would do the same thing.  They would send out a friend request to a stranger, just because the person is a One Direction fan.  That is why my kids don’t have a Facebook account.  I’m not ready for that next step of responsibilities.  Ok, truthfully, I’m too tired to have to supervise their Facebook posts.  🙂

Because I’m a bit paranoid when it comes to who I share my Facebook pictures with, I deleted the friend requests from my Facebook page.  As sweet and lovely as any of those kids might be, I don’t feel comfortable adding them to my friend list.  However, how many people who are looking to acquire more friends on their Facebook account say yes?  How many adults that friend these young strangers post inappropriate pictures or jokes on their Facebook account and don’t question the audience that will read them?

With the technology we have today, it is so easy to reach out to someone you have never met or spoke to.  I have some friends on Facebook that are spouses or friends of a friend.  I have never met them before or even spoke to them on the phone.  Yet, we are both adults and we were connected by a mutual friend.  And as much as I would like to think that One Direction is a friend of mine, they are a music group that doesn’t really know me.  So using One Direction as a mutual friend to meet new friends is not a wise decision.

The point I am trying to get across is that parents need to discuss with their kids the importance of ‘Stranger Danger’, even on Facebook.  They need to question who their kids are being friends with on Facebook.  They need to keep their kids safe and in this day and age, that does not mean to lock the doors.  Because these days, intruders can reach kids through Facebook in the comfort of your own home.  So please, please, please, be attentive to who your kids are speaking to online and what they are reading and watching on the web.  If we don’t watch out for our kids, who will?

Leave a Reply

