It Will Be Okay (Life After Layoff – Chapter 23)

If you read my last post, you know that I was struggling with the devil on my back.  But no more, because ‘It will be okay’.  I had doubts of my future and my capabilities in myself.  But no more, because ‘It will be okay’.  I started reading the bible and although I didn’t find the answers clearly stated in the scriptures, I found something I can’t explain.  Because I now know that ‘It will be okay’.  So I guess you could say I found peace, strength, comfort and perspective in the scriptures.  I found my foundation again and I am grounded enough to say to myself, ‘It will be okay.’

How do I know this?  Because the devil has tested me the last 48 hours and I have not faltered.  I have stayed calm and stayed strong enough to keep my eyes on God and continue to find peace in knowing, ‘It will be okay.”  I will not lie, my biggest weakness in my life is the importance I place on money in the bank account and the control I want over my future.  These are two things I have always struggled with and probably always will.

I know that money is not the center of the universe, but I feel better when I know that I have a little cushion in our checking account.  I have never wanted to be rich, because if you have a lot of money it’s hard to know who likes you for you and who likes you for your money.  However, I don’t like to worry about where the money is going to come from.

I also try my best to let the future be the future and not try to control it.  But that is not something I am always successful with.  I have learned throughout my life that worrying about what the future will not make things any better.  In fact, worrying about the future will not only ruin the future, but also ruin the present.  So I try my best to live for today and leave the future in the future.  However, it is hard sometimes to not get overwhelmed with what my future has to bring when I am trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.  But I know that ‘It will be okay.’, because I have my Lord to depend on.

Like I said, I have been tested in the past 48 hours by the devil and I am still standing.  The devil knows my weaknesses, which is why he reared his ugly head in the form of a potential NSF fee in our checking account and having our central air unit stop working on the hottest day of the summer.  But, ‘It will be okay’.  Because I have God on my side and through my faith in him, I know that I can get through anything.  You see, the devil might have placed these obstacles in my way, but my Lord was helping me overcome every one of them and even giving me a glimpse into my future.

I thought our checking account was fine, but Frank was concerned after I had went food shopping.  So I looked up our balance online and found out we had a possible NSF waiting for us.  Thanks to Frank’s inquiry, I was able to transfer some money over from our credit union to cover the shortage.  But God didn’t only help us financially in that one event, he also helped me emotionally.  You see, my credit union is at my old job.  So when I went to withdrawal some money I was able to see my old friends Shelly and Dee Dee.  Answering their questions about my summer and my future plans helped me more than I can explain.

You see, we are friends on Facebook, so they know what I have done this summer.  However, we don’t really chat on Facebook, we just like each other’s post.  So having a chance to have a real gab session with my old friends gave me some much-needed comfort and support.  So out of a bad thing, came a good thing.  Isn’t God great?

Later that day, after picking up the kids from school, our A/C blew a fuse.  So during the hottest point in the day, the bank sign read 107 degrees, I was running to a hardware store to buy a new fuse.  Of course, I was not able to get it at the first store, which made the situation even more stressful.  To make a long story short, one of the new fuses I bought blew out right away, so we needed an electrician.

Great, it was the hottest day of the summer…On a Friday evening…and our A/C was out.  But ‘It will be okay’, because God was with us.  The fact that our checking account was not currently extra fluffy with funds didn’t help the matter.  But you see, in the darkest hours God’s love shines even brighter.  I had called our A/C guy, but the call wouldn’t go through.  So what now?

Thank God for Facebook and old work friends.  One of my friends from work had posted her husband’s A/C business on her page a couple of months back.  I had pocketed that info into my brain and was very glad that I did.  It took me some time to find the post again, but I did.  My friend’s husband was willing to come out that night.  I didn’t ask how much it would cost, because we were cooking in the house. I just trusted that God would help with the money situation and I was right.

God sent my friend and her husband to our house sometime around 10:00 pm that Friday night.  Even though it took some time to get it going again, he got the A/C to work again.  It was a temporary fix, so we still need to get some working on the fuse box done.  But the air was on in the house and that was all that mattered at the moment.  After spending an hour or more time at our house…working in the dark…in the heat, my friend’s husband refused to take any money for what he did.  He said he didn’t fix anything, he just got it going again.  God bless that man for all he did!

It’s good to know that there are good people in this world.  It’s good to know that I have friends like this.  Come to find out, my friend’s husband took the time to fix our A/C for free and he had to get up for work the next morning.  I don’t know what else to say except, God is Amazing!

The miracles have not stopped there.  God fixed our current situations, but he also gave me a push into my future.  I have gotten a few responses back from some substitute teaching jobs that I have applied for.  So it seems that God still wants me in a classroom.  So it looks like God is pushing me in the right direction and my plans of being a teacher might come true after all.  God is Awesome!

So, my friends, if you are struggling like I was, I highly recommend you crack open a book.  Not just any book, but the bible.  Open up God’s word to your mind and heart and see what he can do in your life.  He will work miracles in your life…if you let him.  God bless and remember…It will be okay!

One thought on “It Will Be Okay (Life After Layoff – Chapter 23)

Leave a Reply

