Important Work (Life After Layoff – Chapter 25)

I did a lot of work on Wednesday, but I don’t have any real evidence to prove it.  However, I believe that in the great book of life that God owns, my name should be referenced a few times for that day.  At least I hope it is.

I started off by publishing my post titled “Blindsided by the Gospel”, which touched two of my friends enough that they reached out to me via private messaging.  That meant a great deal to me.

In fact, one of my fellow marathoners ended up calling me on the phone later that day to vent about things that are just too overwhelming for one person to handle.  I believe I have said it before, being a Mom ain’t for sissies.  Being a Mom requires support of all kinds, one very important support system is other mothers.  That way you can bounce your frustrations off of someone who understands what you are feeling.  Another mother can tell you that you are not alone and that they have felt the same way before.

Sometimes you just need to know that you are not the only one that feels the way you do.  You need to know you are not alone.  I am glad I could be there for my friend.  She has been there for me many times and I’m glad I could return the favor.

As the day progressed, I was in contact with a few Facebook friends that are dealing with different stages of grief.  I find a special connection with those that have lost a parent, because I lost my mom four years ago.  Ever since then, my heart will ache when I hear that one of my friends have lost a parent.  I know what it feels like, that lost feeling that you can’t shake.  So I gravitate to those Facebook posts where my friends will post their sorrow over a parent that has recently passed or one that left this world awhile ago.

I find comfort when I can lend a friend some encouraging words.  I feel an urge to let them know that the pain does get better with time.  The other day my sister shared a post from another blogger that I shared with some of my friends.  It’s titled:

He Was Grieving Over The Death Of His Best Friend, Until An Old Man Told Him THIS. Mind Blown.

It’s well-worth the time to read.  The post describes the feelings that a grieving person goes through and I agree with everything that it says.

I had noticed that one of my friends that had lost her mother and father-in-law in the same year was having a hard time Wednesday.  So I forwarded that post to her Facebook wall, so that she could see that she was not alone in her pain.  Although it has been almost four years since my mom died, I still miss her and have those days that the pain is as strong as it was the day she died.

I had a few other lives that I touched that day, but they were needing support for different reasons.  I have a friend that just dropped off their first-born daughter at a college far away and a friend that brought their first-born son to his first day as a Freshman in high school.  Both of these events are very joyful, yet bittersweet.  Joyful to see their children spread their wings and fly.  Yet, bittersweet because their first-born child is no longer a little child that depends on their mother for everything.

Although I have not reached either stages in my life, I do remember when my older siblings grew up and left home.  It was not easy to see them leave my parent’s home and make their own way in this world.  It was not easy to go from seeing my sibling on a daily basis to seeing them on a weekly or monthly basis.  So I know some of the feelings those mothers are feeling.

Then, to top it off, my friend that sent her son to his first day of high school also had to have her long-time pet dog put asleep.  Her dog had lost all function of its hind legs due to cancer of the bone.  So they had to say goodbye to a part of their family on the same day their first-born became a “High Schooler”.  My friend is a teacher at my kid’s school, so when I saw her after school that day, I went up and gave her a hug.

I told her that even though it seemed like a bad day to lose her dog, she will at least always remember the day that she lost her dog, since that was the same day that her boy started high school.  It’s like when my mom passed away.  The day she died was two days before Frank’s birthday.  As you can imagine, Frank’s birthday that year was not the most joyfully celebrated day.  But I will always remember the day my mom died, because it’s right before my husband’s birthday.

So, as you can see, I did a lot of work that day but it was not of the physical type.  It was of the emotional type.  It did not cost me any money to help my friends and it didn’t even take much time out of my day.  The only thing I had to do was open my heart up and share my feelings with my friends.  I just had to give them my sympathy and lend them an ear to hear their struggles.

Why would I do it, because I have been in their shoes before.  Because I have been helped by friends in the past.  Because that is what Jesus would do.

One thought on “Important Work (Life After Layoff – Chapter 25)

Leave a Reply

