For Us?

My Christopher is still at that age where his innocence floors me sometimes.  I love him to death and I’m so very thankful he is my son.  He knows how to bring a smile to my face.  However, at the age of 4 he doesn’t do the best at sitting quietly during mass.  But today, he did pretty good.

Until we got to the point in the mass where we are preparing for the breaking of the bread.  During this time, Catholics will pray the following prayer:

Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world: have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world: have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world: grant us peace.

Christopher must have been really paying attention to what we were saying today, because after he heard us recite the first verse of the prayer he looked at me and asked, “For Me?”  I smiled as I went on reciting the second verse of the prayer and in his little joyful voice I heard him tell his brother, “For us Patrick!”

Needless to say, our whole family was muffling giggles as we finished reciting the prayer, because of Christopher’s pure innocent joy of the news he just heard.  “Jesus took away the sins of the world, for us.”  Seeing that he had our attention, he continued to remind us through the rest of mass that all of this was ‘for us’.

Isn’t it amazing how God can work through the simplest acts of a child?  I don’t know how many times I have recited that prayer in my Catholic life.  I know there are times I can say it without thinking about each word.  Then there are times that I have to really focus on what I’m saying to remember what verse comes next.  I have the convenience to use a cheat sheet that they have in the pews, but I prefer not to use it.  I would rather make myself recite it from memory.

However, until today, I don’t know if this prayer has had as much meaning to me.  Not until my 4-year-old son repeated the most important part about mass and what Jesus did millions of years ago.  He did it all ‘for us’.  He took away the sin of the world, FOR US.  He died on the cross, FOR US.  He will come again, FOR US.  It might sound a bit too simplified for some, but if you look at it through a 4-year-olds eyes it makes perfect sense.

It’s like the bible song that we learn as a little child:

“Jesus loves me, this I know, For the Bible, tells me so.”

As a child, we learn this song and we believe this song is true.  Or, at least I did.  I don’t ever remember questioning the meaning or the validity of the song.  I sang it loud and proud, like I believed it.  Because Jesus loved me.  When did I grow up and stop having the same convictions I had as an innocent child?  I don’t know when it happened, but it saddens me.  However, thanks to the sweet innocence of my son, I was reminded today why we go to mass.  We go to mass to praise and worship God’s name.  To give him thanks for all the things he has done ‘FOR US’.  Thank you Christopher, for pointing that out to us today.  And thank you God, for sending that little boy into my life.

2 thoughts on “For Us?

  1. For us, yes…but the coolest part is He would have died just for me, just for one. 2 Peter 3:9 “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.”

  2. Thank you! As many times that I have recited that prayer, and how I know God does everything for us, your son is so right! God is doing this RIGHT NOW…FOR US!

Leave a Reply

