Assistant Volleyball Coach (Life After Layoff – Chapter 29)

Remember my last post, where I stated that I have no athletic ability in my bones?  That is still true, but I love my son enough to step out of my box and be the Assistant Volleyball Coach for his team.  Boy, I hope one day he realizes how much I love him.

My two oldest, Marie and Patrick, played on the volleyball team at school last year.  However, this year they had to split the grades apart and there was a possibility that Patrick’s team wouldn’t have a coach.  Since I know how much he loves volleyball, I volunteered to be the Assistant Volleyball Coach.  With the understanding that I know nothing about coaching volleyball.  I told them that if they just needed a warm body to fill that space, I was the woman for the job.  They were okay with that and so now I am finding myself going to volleyball practices every week.

I never really plan on doing a lot at the practices.  Yet, I always end up coming home exhausted from shagging balls.  No matter how tired I am, I have a good feeling about helping out Patrick’s team.  He is on a team of 4th & 5th grade boys and girls.  There are only 2 kids that returned from last year, so we mostly work on fundamentals for the new players.

It has been quite an experience and I’m glad I volunteered for the job.  I may not be able to show them what to do on the court, but I can tell them how to behave.  I can teach them about sportsmanship and teamwork.  So you see, even when I’m not substituting, I am still out there teaching the kids something.

One thought on “Assistant Volleyball Coach (Life After Layoff – Chapter 29)

Leave a Reply

